The Catharsis of Trailrunning

Waking up Saturday morning I found that there were several important & unresolved issues running through my head. Some of the problems were financial in nature, while others dealt with upcoming work/professional obligations that would involve a great amount of prep & follow-thru… the issues were born either the week prior or suddenly Saturday morning once our mail was delivered. Regardless, they were all things to be taken seriously & dealt with soon. 

And it being on a Saturday morning (before a federally observed MLK Monday) that these little demons came to a head and/or popped up, there was very little I could actually do to address said issues. Other than create some sort of action plan on how to take care of them in the immediate future, there was not much else I could do.

I soon gathered myself both emotionally & physically, threw on some clothing suitable for trailrunning, and headed out to KingsCrown in a wild sprint.

Escapism? I think not. I went trailrunning with a strong purpose in mind.

The run helped ease my troubled mind immediately. There was so much happening cognitively. My mind was a jumbled, semi-panicked  puzzle & I knew that sitting in the house, fretting with wife or dogs, was not the answer. The lighting was haunting & the walls seems to suffocate any sense of mental progress.  I had to depart from where the problems were born, or at least harbored & kept warm.

And all of those concerns heading into the trails (by God’s design) soon began to categorize themselves into different areas of my problem-solving scope. Arms pumping, shoulders relaxing, lungs opening up & breathing, core tightening & strengthening, my body did its thing & ran as my brain’s computer began to spread everything out in clear space & focus.

What could I take care of?  What don’t I have control over? How will I handle one issue versus another? What sort of initiative path will I be taking? What’s a usable angle? What’s a secondary angle? What are the possible returns/responses I could encounter?

All of these questions worked themselves calmly through my mind as I ran along the forest’s upward & downward trails. I leapt over fallen timber & resolved to Do This. I slid down along a muddied slick & decided to Do That.

In the end, I had several feasible plans worked out on how I would approach the multiple issues that lay ahead. I felt much better. The mountain solitude &  controlled release of endorphins worked its personal magic. 

There have been countless times that I’ve entered onto a trail with seemingly hopeless frustrations, and have come out ahead, the constraints of my mind loosened & relieved. Problems & issues resolved.

Too many times people hang onto their phones or sit in front of their computers or TV sets & try unsuccessfully to work out their personal or professional issues. Too many times do people seek out resolution while unloading their predicaments onto friends or family. I say trust in yourself. Run into the brief solitude of your own inner faith & look for the answer there. Who truly knows you? Not your brother or sister or work peer. Not your bestfriend. It’s you, who knows you best… who knows what you’re capable of, what your absolute strengths are.  Allow your mind the opportunity to figure out your smartest plan of attack & I guarantee you’ll come out ahead.

This entry was posted in faith, healing factors, mind power, problem solving, trailrunning, training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Catharsis of Trailrunning

  1. Dad says:

    It is amazing how well our subconscious minds function with that endorfen/adrenalin/blood flow rush, isn’t it? Have you noticed how our problem solving parts work so well during a night’s sleep?
    I am very proud of my son Noah.

Leave a Reply

